p: 07513 101659 e: membership@ppora.co.uk

Hunter Chase Highlight Awards

Hunter Chase Highlight Awards are designed to showcase grassroots achievements on the Hunter Chase stage – where grassroots owners, keepers and owner-trainers line up alongside their professional counterparts.

During the 2018 – 2019 Season the PPORA made 4 of these awards

Cheltenham Foxhunter: Winner – Diana Williams, Point to Point stalwart and  owner of  Hazel Hill.  Unbeaten in all but one for his starts between the flags in the UK over the past 5 seasons, Hazel Hill made it four from four over Regulation Fences when he scored an emphatic 4 length victory in  the “Amateurs Gold Cup” in March.  His reappearance at Cheltenham’s May Hunter Chase Evening added a further trophy to the cabinet when out battling Caryto Des Brosses by a neck in the Timico Final.  Bought as a maiden in Ireland, Hazel Hill was originally seen as a Ladies’ Race prospect, and was trained at home and ridden in his early career by Diana’s daughter, Jane, under whom he progressed smoothly from maiden to open company.  Following Jane’s retirement from race riding Hazel Hill was sent to Phil Rowley and has since forged a winning partnership with Alex Edwards

Aintree Foxhunters: Winner – Tabitha Worsley for her tremendous success on board Top Wood trained by Kelly Morgan.  With their feet firmly in the Pointing Field both Tabitha and Kelly have each moved into the pro-ranks where they are great ambassadors highlighting the multi faceted role of Point to Pointing not just as an arena for competitive amateurs but also as a learning space for those aspiring to professional careers.

Cheltenham Hunter Chase Evening:  Winner – Dale Peters for a shrewd ride on board Caryto Des Brosses that saw him harry home Alex Edwards and Hazel Hill – and going down by just a neck – in the Timico Final.

Fontwell Hunter Chase Evening:  A novice rider winner this time, with this award going to Thomas Doggrell for his winning ride on Tusa Eire the outsider of  five in the PPRC sponsored 2m1f race.   This was the fourth win of Thomas’ race riding career and his first ride over Regulation Fences.

During the 2019 – 2020 Season the PPORA will choose <tbc winners from competitors in the following events <add list of events here>.

Get involved

We’d like PPORA members help in choosing this season’s winners. <add explanation of how to nominate here>

<update with 2019 – 2020 winners as announced>