p: 07513 101659 e: membership@ppora.co.uk

2019 – 2020 Jim Mahon Award

The prestigious Jim Mahon Award remembers our founder Jim Mahon.  The man whose vision, and ability to motivate others to join him in delivering that vision, led to the creation of the Point To Point Owners Association.  This original organisation has  evolved alongside our sport to become the PPORA we know today.

The PPORA aims to be an inclusive organisation with membership open to everyone who takes part in, enables and enjoys our unique sport.  Our commitment, explained in Who We Are And What We Do,  is to support, strengthen and represent the whole of the  Pointing’s grassroots, and in 2017 we introduced a new category of membership “Supporter” which was created to include all those who are not owners or riders but who share our passion for Pointing.

Point to Pointing would simply not take place without the legion of supporters whose efforts make things happen and the Jim Mahon Award,  announced each year at the PPORA Grassroots Awards Lunch, is an opportunity to recognise a sustained contribution to the success of our sport over time.

2018 – 2019 Jim Mahon Award Winner – Clive Bennett

Clive Bennett (r) with sponsor Andrew Elliot, Tattersalls Ireland. mage courtesy & copyright Phil Britt
2019 Jim Mahon Award Winner Clive Bennett (r)
with sponsor Andrew Elliot, Tattersalls Ireland.
Image courtesy & copyright Phil Britt

The theme of our 2019 Grassroots Awards Lunch was “emerging talent and innovation” and with this in mind our Jim Mahon Award winner Clive Bennett was chosen in recognition of his tremendous support of young riders and trainers over many years.  Some of the recognisable names linked to Clive are Polly Gundy (Walker), Clare Allen, Tom Weston, James Ridley, Suzy Smith (who trained Pointers for Clive before setting up professionally).     His horses are currently trained by Emma Alvis and Sam Jukes.

A Pointing stalwart Clive has been involved in many capacities over the years, gaining immense pleasure from the achievement of his horses many of which were homebred by Clive and his late wife Eileen.

One such horse is Marcle Ridge who fulfilled Clive and Eileen’s shared ambition of a Cheltenham winner at the May Hunter Chase Evening this year.

2019 – 2020 Nominations

All PPORA Members are invited to submit nominations for the Jim Mahon Award.

To submit a nomination please email your PPORA Area Representative or Rider Representative, you can find who they are and how to contact them here.   Alternatively you can send your nomination to membership@ppora.co.uk

Your nomination should include:

The deadline for 2019 – 2020 nominations is <TBC>

The final decision on the winner of the award will be made by the PPORA Chairman, Mark Buchan, and the PPORACommittee.

The winner be invited to join us at the 2020 PPORA Grassroots Awards Lunch where they will receive their award.

Sponsored by