p: 07513 101659 e: membership@ppora.co.uk

2019 – 2020 Chairman’s Award

2019 John Thorley, Equestrian Art International presents 2019 Robert Killen Chairman’s Award Winner Nick Pearce with a stunning original oil painting of hounds by leading contemporary artist Vineta Sayer.
Photo courtesy & copyright Phil Britt. Painting copyright Vineta Sayer.

Now in its fourth season the Robert Killen Chairman’s Award was introduced by Robert Killen with the aim of  recognising individuals who are currently promoting the visibility, or contributing to the future of, our sport. The remit is deliberately broad, and it is open to the whole of the grassroots pointing community including not just owners and riders, but also officials, raceday helpers, administrators, keepers.  Everyone who contributes to the success of our sport.  

These wide eligibility criteria are a reflection of the PPORA’s commitment to support, strengthen and represent the whole of Pointing’s Grassroots  Community.

 In 2018 and 2019 Equestrian Art International (EAI) joined us as sponsor of this award presenting each of these year’s winners with a stunning original oil painting by artist Vineta Sayer.

Click here to see more work by Vineta

Previous winners of this award are:

2017 – Guy Disney

2018 – Luke Harvey

2018 – Nick Pearce

Originally from Gloucester, Nick has a long association with Pointing first as a jockey, then as a trainer.  He worked for Simon Tindall in East Sussex for around 10 years, before moving to Warwickshire where he is now based with Dan Skelton.

Over the years as a trainer he has been an enthusiastic supporter of novice riders, with 6 now professional jockeys. Recently he has helped newcomers such as  sport Tristan Durrell, William Marshall establish themselves as promising riders.

Nick was chosen for this award for his contribution to the sport as Clerk of the Course for the Croome & West Warwickshire’s new course at  Shelfield Park. He has been working closely with Patty Allen Senior Master, and Point to Point Committee Chair of the Croome and West Warwickshire to develop the course ahead of their first fixture in 2020.

You can read more about why John Thorley decided to support this award and the PPORA by clicking here

2019 – 2020 Chairman’s Award


All PPORA Members are invited to submit nominations for this award.To submit a nomination please email  your nomination to membership@ppora.co.ukYour nomination should include:

The deadline for 2019 – 2020 nominations is <tbc>

The final decision on the winner of the award will be made by the PPORA Chairman Mark Buchan

Sponsored by 

road to stratford mini logo